WiFi Problems GT-P3100 GT-P3110 GT-P3113 Verizon SCH-I705 4GLTE - The Galaxy Tab Forum

The Galaxy Tab Forum: WiFi Problems GT-P3100 GT-P3110 GT-P3113 Verizon SCH-I705 4GLTE - The Galaxy Tab Forum

Jump to content

Welcome to The Galaxy Tab Forum

Welcome to The Galaxy Tab Forum, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information. Take advantage of it immediately, Register Now or Sign In.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Add events to our community calendar
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Customize your experience here
Guest Message by DevFuse
  • 6 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

WiFi Problems GT-P3100 GT-P3110 GT-P3113 Verizon SCH-I705 4GLTE

Posted 01 May 2012 - 03:14 AM (#1) User is offline   LIONOZ 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 01-May 12
  • LocationNew York U.S.A.
  • Device Size:2 7.0
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

I see my dual band G on WPA but I do not see my WPA2 N. My lappy does not have any problem connecting to the WPA2 N node on my dual band router.
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : 2 7.0
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Remove Advertisements User is offline Advertisements

  • TheGalaxyTabForum.com



Posted 01 May 2012 - 08:18 AM (#2) User is offline   wizz 

  • Superman Moderator
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Super Moderator
  • Posts: 5798
  • Joined: 09-December 10
  • LocationUK
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:2.3.3 Gingerbread

View PostLIONOZ, on 01 May 2012 - 03:14 AM, said:

I see my dual band G on WPA but I do not see my WPA2 N. My lappy does not have any problem connecting to the WPA2 N node on my dual band router.

I have a dual band N router, and my GT-P1000 has no trouble connecting to the 5GHz side of it.....

My Tab picked that one itself, so it's probably a case of ....the Tab picks the preferential band itself depending on it's own logarithms.

You might try broadcasting your SSID to see if you can pick it manually yourself, and then set it to silent again ?
Posted Image

Galaxy Tab 7" wifi & 3g (GT-P1000) Gingerbread 2.3.3
Galaxy Tab 3 8.0 wifi (SM-T310) Kitkat 4.4.2

Posted 21 May 2012 - 05:34 PM (#3) User is offline   piano lady 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 12
  • LocationWisconsin, U.S.A.
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

In doing the initial setup, I tried to connect to my secured wireless network. The Galaxy noted that the signal was strong but after entering the WEP code and selecting "connect" and the unit messaging that it was "obtaining IP address" after a short time it messages "Network disabled. Poor connection"
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 21 May 2012 - 06:55 PM (#4) User is offline   45678 

  • Relaxed Moderator
  • PipPipPip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4470
  • Joined: 10-February 11
  • LocationBristol, UK
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:2.3.6 Gingerbread

View Postpiano lady, on 21 May 2012 - 05:34 PM, said:

In doing the initial setup, I tried to connect to my secured wireless network. The Galaxy noted that the signal was strong but after entering the WEP code and selecting "connect" and the unit messaging that it was "obtaining IP address" after a short time it messages "Network disabled. Poor connection"


WI-Fi Connection Problem Solutions (this is a list of solutions found on the Forum)

Reset Router
Check for Router software update (if its an old router)
Test alternative channels on the Router
Check Router Radio Band, Check Router Radio Mode (test alternative settings)
Check Router Security & Tab Security are the same (Open, WEP, WPA/WPA2 PSK, 802.1x EAP)
Is your Tab Mac Address "Permitted" on the Router Filter List
Check your Router Firewall Settings
Is the Router DHCP Pool set large enough for all your devices
(ie:- router ip 192.168.1.1 - router dhcp ip pool 192.168.1.2 to 192.168.1.10 would allow 9 devices)

*** special note *** Belkin Routers, try changing the lease on a Belkin Router from "Forever" to "30 days" (or your choice)

Try a "Static IP" (settings, Wireless & Network, Wi-Fi settings, Menu, Advanced)
check the box, Use static IP
on pc open "Command Prompt" enter ipconfig/all
on Tab
IP address, enter ip address within your router DHCP pool
Gateway, same default gateway as show in PC Command Prompt
Netmask, same Subnet Mask as show in PC Command Prompt
DNS 1, same first DNS Server as show in PC Command Prompt
DNS 2, same second DNS Server as show in PC Command Prompt

on the Tab, don't scan for available wi-fi, add your wi-fi manually, use the same security as the router settings
beware of Tab Auto-Caps when setting up connection

check out : Wifi Analyzer :- https://play.google....e=order_history

Some public networks are open to anyone, but you have to use the Browser app to find a login page that lets you access the network:
Simply browse to any page on the Internet, and the login page shows up.
if you have a static IP set, you may need to undo that for public networks



Posted 21 May 2012 - 09:05 PM (#5) User is offline   wellersl 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 18-May 12
  • LocationNew Mexico, USA
  • Device Size:2 7.0
  • Device Model Number:GT-P3113
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

This may or may not help, but I recall similar issues...

When I got my Droid X, I had to update the firmware in my router (Netgear/Sam Knows Whitebox).
Two years later when I got my Tab 2 7.0, I had to update the firmware in my router again.
During the course of troubleshooting, I discovered that either my router or ICS don't like special characters in the password.

So if none of Bart's suggestions work, open the security in the router and try connecting again. If that works, dummy up your password without using any "special" characters. If that doesn't work, update the firmware in the router. My money's on ICS.

Please do keep us informed.
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : 2 7.0
Galaxy Tab Number : GT-P3113
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 01 September 2012 - 05:53 PM (#6) User is offline   eddie spags 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 01-September 12
  • LocationCalifornia, U.S.A.
  • Device Size:2 7.0
  • Device Model Number:GT-P3113
  • Android Version:4.0.4 Ice Cream Sandwich

I have a Tab 2 7.0 model GT-P113 using Android 4.0.4 and a Netgear N600 router WNDR3400 using 2.4Ghz. My other wireless devices use the preferred security setting AES. The tab only receives TKIP,not AES, and seems to really be disturbed if I enable both AES & TKIP on my router. None of my other wireless devices have a problem with this EXCEPT the Samsung, which continuously disconnects, saves, secures, authenticates and reconnects every 20 seconds and then displays a message says it is reconnected. A nice Samsung customer service rep says it is a problem with my router but that's not exactly true. The tab seems to have a problem staying connected if it detects both security settings. Is there a fix? Thanks for your help.
Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 GT-P3113 Android Version 4.0.4 ICS

Posted 04 September 2012 - 05:25 AM (#7) User is offline   vaibhav 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 04-September 12
  • LocationIndia
  • Device Size:2 7.0
  • Device Model Number:GT-P3100
  • Android Version:4.0.4 Ice Cream Sandwich

Hi all ,

is it true that samsung tab can only be connected to secure wifi connections ?
what if i want to connect it to local wireless created by me on my laptop or using connectify ...
can you suggest me any method !!
plese help ...!!

expecting reply asap!!
Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 GT-P3100 Android Version 4.0.4 ICS

Posted 04 September 2012 - 05:48 AM (#8) User is offline   BrianG 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 329
  • Joined: 24-July 12
  • LocationDes Moines, IA
  • Device Model Number:See my Signature
  • Android Version:See my Signature

I've connected to open (unsecured) networks as well as WEP, WPA, etc.
Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 - GT-P3113 - Android JB 4.1.1 (NOT rooted) - Firmware Rev LK7
Nexus 7 32GB - Android JB 4.3
Nexus 7FHD (v2) 32GB - Android JB 4.3
Samsung Galaxy S3 - Android JB 4.1.2

Ainol 7" Novo - Android JB 4.1
Ainol 10" Novo - Android JB 4.1
HTC Merge - Android GB 2.3
Kindle Fire (G1) - Android 2.3 wrecked by Amazon. :)

Posted 05 September 2012 - 04:39 AM (#9) User is offline   vaibhav 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 04-September 12
  • LocationIndia
  • Device Size:2 7.0
  • Device Model Number:GT-P3100
  • Android Version:4.0.4 Ice Cream Sandwich

Hi Bro how you are able to see the wap connection , is there any praticular wifi setting you have made ??

actually i want to access my laptop my wify through my tab , but when i create a Local wifi adhoc or lan i am not able to connect via my tab ..
its samsung tab 2 , p3100 model !!


please reply !!
Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 GT-P3100 Android Version 4.0.4 ICS

Posted 05 September 2012 - 01:57 PM (#10) User is offline   BrianG 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 329
  • Joined: 24-July 12
  • LocationDes Moines, IA
  • Device Model Number:See my Signature
  • Android Version:See my Signature

View Postvaibhav, on 05 September 2012 - 04:40 AM, said:

Hi Bro how you are able to see the wap connection , is there any praticular wifi setting you have made ??

actually i want to access my laptop my wify through my tab , but when i create a Local wifi adhoc or lan i am not able to connect via my tab ..
its samsung tab 2 , p3100 model !!


please reply !!


Well, it's as easy as going to the tab's wifi settings (tap "settings", then "Wi-Fi"). Tap the network you want to connect to from the list and enter any password/key when prompted. If you don't see your router/access point listed there, it could be that your router is set not to broadcast its Network SSID - to change that, you'll have to log into the router itself from a connected computer and change it. Or, while in the wi-fi settings, tap the "Add Network" at the top right corner of the screen and manually enter the settings.

I've never done a wi-fi peer-to-peer connection (have had the need), so can't help you there if that's what you're trying to do. If you tap "Settings", then "More Settings" on the left, there is an option for Wi-Fi direct, but again, I've never used it.

However, you can access other computers over any connection:

- Create a shared folder on your laptop/computer and set share permissions correctly.

- Download and install ES File Explorer on your tab.

- Open ES File Explorer and tap the "LAN" tab at the top (may have to enable tabs from menu). Either auto-scan the network (tap "Search") or manually add the server.

I've done this on both Windows and Linux operating systems, so it does work - providing the share permissions were set correctly. Also, these steps work best when trying to connect to shared folders on PC/laptops with a static IP address since the IP address may change occasionally if using DHCP.
Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 - GT-P3113 - Android JB 4.1.1 (NOT rooted) - Firmware Rev LK7
Nexus 7 32GB - Android JB 4.3
Nexus 7FHD (v2) 32GB - Android JB 4.3
Samsung Galaxy S3 - Android JB 4.1.2

Ainol 7" Novo - Android JB 4.1
Ainol 10" Novo - Android JB 4.1
HTC Merge - Android GB 2.3
Kindle Fire (G1) - Android 2.3 wrecked by Amazon. :)

Posted 25 September 2012 - 10:49 AM (#11) User is offline   darya 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 25-September 12
  • LocationU.S.A.
  • Device Size:2 7.0
  • Device Model Number:GT-P3113
  • Android Version:4.1.1 Jellybean

I have the same problem. with my new Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 wi-fi, I couldn't find my home wi-fi network wile 2 other devices (notebooks) could see and connect to it, also a Galaxy S II could before found the network easily. My tablet could see several networks of neighbors but not mine, the router is D-link DIR-600 which is a N class router.

I've searched for this problem and have seen that there are many people having the same problem but there is no confirmed solution or even known cause, some could have solved there problem but others couldn't. I'm going to test the solutions which mentioned and hope they work, but the most of the the solutions are the matter of the routers, changing the settings of the router. But one just can change the setting of his/her own router, what should do with the wi-fi networks of the public areas, work, etc.?

I have to decide very soon if I should return/change my tablet or not, I don't have much time. please help me if anyone have new ideas or solutions.
Thank you.


Android v4.0.3

Galaxy Tab Model : 2 7.0
Galaxy Tab Number : GT-P3113
Android Version : 4.1.1 Jellybean

Posted 16 October 2012 - 01:30 AM (#12) User is offline   ZMarty 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 16-October 12
  • LocationU.S.A.
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

I just purchased a 7” tab 2. When I set up the wireless it immediately recognized my WEP secured access point. It indicates signal strength is strong, but it indicates security is “NONE”. When I open advanced options there is no field to enter the WEP key. There is no option to delete, (forget) the network.
I tapped the + to add a new network manually. Now I have 2 networks with the same SSID and can connect to the one I created ok, but if I go out of range and then return, the screen indicates “Not in range” even though I am next to the access point. The only options are to “Forget” of “Cancel”, there is no option to connect.
If I forget, I can re-create manually and it works until I go out of range. Other users our house connect with several different models of Dell, Lenovo, Acer Laptops, Kendal Fire and my HTC phone connects and goes in and out of range with no problems.

How can I modify the SSID so I can enter the WEP key or hold the setting I enter in the manually created SSID?
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 17 October 2012 - 05:26 PM (#13) User is offline   chefadie01 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 17-October 12
  • LocationUK
  • Device Size:2 7.0
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Hi there,
I'm having issues with the WiFi connection on my new tab 2 7.0, it keeps dropping out and back in all the time . We never have trouble with our mac or iPhone or my wife's galaxy s2
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : 2 7.0
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 17 October 2012 - 09:10 PM (#14) User is offline   chappo 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 22-September 12
  • LocationAustralia
  • Device Size:2 7.0
  • Device Model Number:GT-P3110
  • Android Version:4.0.3 Ice Cream Sandwich

Download WIFI Analyzer and check out the signal strength.
Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 GT-P3110 ICS 4.0.3

Posted 20 October 2012 - 02:38 PM (#15) User is offline   HarryCallaghan 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 20-October 12
  • LocationSpain
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Hello.

I'm having a weird problem trying to conect to wifi. I want to use static ip settings as i use in all my other devices, i fill all the fields with the proper information and the problem comes when i want to connect, because i just can't push the conect button, it's not active in bold letters as it uses to be. I don't know what's going on, i used the same info in the same way as i use in about ten diferent devices.

I would appreciate any help.
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 20 October 2012 - 07:25 PM (#16) User is offline   HarryCallaghan 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 20-October 12
  • LocationSpain
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

[Ok, i already solved the first problem (it just doesn't let you push connect unless you fill again the length net field.

Now i have another problem. The tab connects succesfully to my net, i can do ping from my computer to the tab and i have correct response, but i still have no internet. I had change wep security for wpa/psk ¿Maybe Android have problems connecting to wpa protected net?
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 20 October 2012 - 08:21 PM (#17) User is offline   BrianG 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 329
  • Joined: 24-July 12
  • LocationDes Moines, IA
  • Device Model Number:See my Signature
  • Android Version:See my Signature

I've used WEP and WPA with no issues. Do you have MAC address filtering enabled on your router? Also are you using a "whitelist' in the router (where only listed devices are allowed to connect)?
Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 - GT-P3113 - Android JB 4.1.1 (NOT rooted) - Firmware Rev LK7
Nexus 7 32GB - Android JB 4.3
Nexus 7FHD (v2) 32GB - Android JB 4.3
Samsung Galaxy S3 - Android JB 4.1.2

Ainol 7" Novo - Android JB 4.1
Ainol 10" Novo - Android JB 4.1
HTC Merge - Android GB 2.3
Kindle Fire (G1) - Android 2.3 wrecked by Amazon. :)

Posted 20 October 2012 - 11:36 PM (#18) User is offline   HarryCallaghan 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 20-October 12
  • LocationSpain
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

View PostBrianG, on 20 October 2012 - 08:21 PM, said:

I've used WEP and WPA with no issues. Do you have MAC address filtering enabled on your router? Also are you using a "whitelist' in the router (where only listed devices are allowed to connect)?


Neither Mac Filer nor white list. I also have a Sony Experia U using Android which is succesfully connected . Dunno what`s going on :(
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 21 October 2012 - 12:37 AM (#19) User is offline   BrianG 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 329
  • Joined: 24-July 12
  • LocationDes Moines, IA
  • Device Model Number:See my Signature
  • Android Version:See my Signature

You mention static IPs; you aren't by any chance trying to use an IP address that is already in use? Maybe you forgot you already assigned it to something else?

Also, I imagine you are using progressively higher IP addresses as you get devices. Is the IP address you are using within the range allowed by the router? I assume you are using 192.168.1.XXX, just make sure the router is allowing the full 0-256 range in the last octet - or at least a large enough usable range for the number of device you have.
Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 - GT-P3113 - Android JB 4.1.1 (NOT rooted) - Firmware Rev LK7
Nexus 7 32GB - Android JB 4.3
Nexus 7FHD (v2) 32GB - Android JB 4.3
Samsung Galaxy S3 - Android JB 4.1.2

Ainol 7" Novo - Android JB 4.1
Ainol 10" Novo - Android JB 4.1
HTC Merge - Android GB 2.3
Kindle Fire (G1) - Android 2.3 wrecked by Amazon. :)

Posted 21 October 2012 - 04:12 PM (#20) User is offline   HarryCallaghan 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 20-October 12
  • LocationSpain
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

View PostBrianG, on 21 October 2012 - 12:37 AM, said:

You mention static IPs; you aren't by any chance trying to use an IP address that is already in use? Maybe you forgot you already assigned it to something else?

Also, I imagine you are using progressively higher IP addresses as you get devices. Is the IP address you are using within the range allowed by the router? I assume you are using 192.168.1.XXX, just make sure the router is allowing the full 0-256 range in the last octet - or at least a large enough usable range for the number of device you have.


Nop, none of my devices has the same ip. I'm using 192.168.1.90 which i think is in the allowed range. Anyway, i'm gonna try with some other ip's, just in case.

Thr weird thing is that according to the tab interface i'm connected.

Thank you for your kind help, by the way.
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Share this topic:


  • 6 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic


1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

IPB Skins by Skinbox

Skin and Language