The Galaxy Tab Forum: Bricked Galaxy Tab - The Galaxy Tab Forum

Jump to content

Welcome to The Galaxy Tab Forum

Welcome to The Galaxy Tab Forum, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information. Take advantage of it immediately, Register Now or Sign In.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Add events to our community calendar
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Customize your experience here
Guest Message by DevFuse
  • 12 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Bricked Galaxy Tab

Posted 27 October 2010 - 09:15 PM (#1) Guest_zyborg_*

  • Group: Guests

I am using Kies.

I finally contacted a HP Support Representative, who guided me to installation of the Intel Active Management Technology drivers which also contained the necessary drivers for PCI Simple Communications Protocol and the PCI Serial Port.

Now, I've managed to sync my GT through Kies, but the connection between the device and my PC (Win7 x64 system) seems to become lost constantly.

Now bricked...!!!
Of cource I couldn't wait to update the firmware, so I downloaded the latest version from samfirmware.com and started the flashing process through Odin3... and now my GT seems bricked as it lost connection in the beginning of the flashing process, and now it won't start at all. Just showing a nasty communication error picture on the screen...

HELP!

UPDATE: SOLVED!: You're not gonna believe it... On a hunch, I decided to install Android Commander to find out it that would land me the miraculous access to the device... and yes... IT DID! Don't ask me how, but it did. The device was suddenly correctly recognized in Odin3 and I was able to flash the new firmware - and now I have all the European input languages available. Jippeeeeeee!!! :))

Remove Advertisements User is offline Advertisements

  • TheGalaxyTabForum.com



Posted 28 October 2010 - 02:36 PM (#2) User is offline   Bogdi 

  • Administrator
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 1,192
  • Joined: 05-October 10
  • LocationUK
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:2.3.6 Gingerbread

Happy to hear that you managed to to un-brick your Galaxy Tab.

If it is possible, could you tell us (step by step) how did you flash and update the firmware on your android slate and I will add the information as tutorial under your name.

That would be very helpful for those who might be in the same situation as you were.

Thank you.

Galaxy Tab Model : 7-Inch Original
Galaxy Tab Number : GT-P1000
Android Version : 2.3.6 Gingerbread

Posted 28 October 2010 - 08:23 PM (#3) User is offline   Beerkan 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 27-October 10
  • LocationBelfast, UK
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

I thought KIES was NOT compatible with Win7.

Also can you post where you got the GT firmware from?

thanks.
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 01 December 2010 - 10:46 AM (#4) User is offline   alanjuk46 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 28-November 10
  • LocationMilton Keynes, UK
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

I have used kies and have done a firmware update with it yesterday on windows 7
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 08 December 2010 - 08:02 AM (#5) User is offline   gohian 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 08-December 10
  • LocationKuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Hi, about 3 weeks ago when i plugged my tab to my pc. Kies announced that there was a firmware upgrade for my tab. I followed the instructions to do the upgrade but after about two hours there was a dialog box on kies sayimg the upgrade failed and that i had to do a recovery. My tab displayed a a screen that said something to the effect that upgrade in progress. I restarted the tab it was still working but running the original firmware. Anybody encountered this? I am in Malaysia btw, if that makes a difference
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 10 December 2010 - 07:02 PM (#6) User is offline   Bogdi 

  • Administrator
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 1,192
  • Joined: 05-October 10
  • LocationUK
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:2.3.6 Gingerbread

View Postgohian, on 08 December 2010 - 08:02 AM, said:

Hi, about 3 weeks ago when i plugged my tab to my pc. Kies announced that there was a firmware upgrade for my tab. I followed the instructions to do the upgrade but after about two hours there was a dialog box on kies sayimg the upgrade failed and that i had to do a recovery. My tab displayed a a screen that said something to the effect that upgrade in progress. I restarted the tab it was still working but running the original firmware. Anybody encountered this? I am in Malaysia btw, if that makes a difference


I upgraded my firmware and I didn't have any problem (through KIES). I am not sure why the update failed. Did you try to update the Galaxy Tab again?

Galaxy Tab Model : 7-Inch Original
Galaxy Tab Number : GT-P1000
Android Version : 2.3.6 Gingerbread

Posted 15 December 2010 - 09:20 AM (#7) User is offline   richards 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 15-December 10
  • LocationNorth Down, UK
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

View Postalanjuk46, on 01 December 2010 - 10:46 AM, said:

I have used kies and have done a firmware update with it yesterday on windows 7


Same here updated firmware in windows 7 using kies no problems this end
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 15 December 2010 - 09:27 AM (#8) User is offline   gohian 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 08-December 10
  • LocationKuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Have tried it twice so far, have also upgraded kies. Am on windows 7 home premium and connected to the tab via a usb hub
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 16 December 2010 - 10:47 AM (#9) User is offline   hameednawaz 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 28-November 10
  • LocationSaudi Arabia - Jeddah
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

View Postgohian, on 15 December 2010 - 09:27 AM, said:

Have tried it twice so far, have also upgraded kies. Am on windows 7 home premium and connected to the tab via a usb hub



hi,

Please do not upgrade with window 7 try to upgrade window xp it will work because window 7 giving you error so my advise try to upgrade with window xp

Hope it will work for you.

thanks
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 21 December 2010 - 12:11 AM (#10) User is offline   Ayman07 

  • Advanced Member
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 171
  • Joined: 23-November 10
  • LocationMichigan U.S.A.
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:2.3.6 Gingerbread

View Postgohian, on 15 December 2010 - 09:27 AM, said:

Have tried it twice so far, have also upgraded kies. Am on windows 7 home premium and connected to the tab via a usb hub


Don't try upgrading it throught a hub. Plug the tab directly into your PC. There is a higher change something might go wrong if its through a hub.

Galaxy Tab 7-inch GT-P1000 Android 2.3.6

Posted 26 December 2010 - 01:13 AM (#11) User is offline   gohian 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 08-December 10
  • LocationKuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Interesting I used a notebook running xp and direct connected the tab, there was also a kies update, thiss time the upgrade worked fine. Thanks guys
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 26 December 2010 - 10:05 AM (#12) User is offline   richards 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 15-December 10
  • LocationNorth Down, UK
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

I have updated mine windows 7& kies no problems here
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 14 February 2011 - 07:12 PM (#13) User is offline   johnb 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 14-February 11
  • LocationRichmond upon Thames, UK
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

One week-old Tab is locked "Power Reset or Unknown Upload Mode", it says.
Any advice? Thx
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 15 February 2011 - 09:00 PM (#14) User is offline   Ayman07 

  • Advanced Member
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 171
  • Joined: 23-November 10
  • LocationMichigan U.S.A.
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:2.3.6 Gingerbread

View Postjohnb, on 14 February 2011 - 07:12 PM, said:

One week-old Tab is locked "Power Reset or Unknown Upload Mode", it says.
Any advice? Thx


Just hold the power button till it turns off then turn it on again by pressing the power button. You only can get into that mode by pressing both the volume down and up rocker and power. Not sure why your in that option.

Galaxy Tab 7-inch GT-P1000 Android 2.3.6

Posted 16 February 2011 - 06:39 PM (#15) User is offline   adrian_z80 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 11-February 11
  • LocationBaja California, Mexico
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Basically the problem is this:

I tried to flash a European firmware onto my Arabic tab that I purchased through Amazon with Odin 1.7, but I bricked it.

At first I could faintly see the Samsung logo (with no backlight) on the screen and hear the startup tune, but now, after who knows how many attempts with other firmware the screen is completely blank, and I hear nothing, but I can still go into download mode.

I completely lost track of all the firmwares I have tried, but now everytime I try to flash a new one Odin says:
<ID:0/008> Set PIT file..
<ID:0/008> DO NOT TURN OFF TARGET!!
<ID:0/008> Get PIT for mapping..
<ID:0/008> Firmware update start..
<ID:0/008> zImage
<ID:0/008>
<ID:0/008> Complete(Write) operation failed.

Any ideas as to how to at least revert it to the way it was initially?
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 17 February 2011 - 10:52 PM (#16) User is offline   briemz 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 17-February 11
  • LocationManchester UK
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

View Postadrian_z80, on 16 February 2011 - 06:39 PM, said:

Basically the problem is this:

I tried to flash a European firmware onto my Arabic tab that I purchased through Amazon with Odin 1.7, but I bricked it.

At first I could faintly see the Samsung logo (with no backlight) on the screen and hear the startup tune, but now, after who knows how many attempts with other firmware the screen is completely blank, and I hear nothing, but I can still go into download mode.

I completely lost track of all the firmwares I have tried, but now everytime I try to flash a new one Odin says:
<ID:0/008> Set PIT file..
<ID:0/008> DO NOT TURN OFF TARGET!!
<ID:0/008> Get PIT for mapping..
<ID:0/008> Firmware update start..
<ID:0/008> zImage
<ID:0/008>
<ID:0/008> Complete(Write) operation failed.

Any ideas as to how to at least revert it to the way it was initially?


Don't worry man youre tab is still working their is no such brick on any android phone try to search in google kernel modaco rom samsung galaxy tab and search on how to flash step by step new rom if youre tab is gsm then its fine
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 28 February 2011 - 10:41 PM (#17) User is offline   sanchez 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 28-February 11
  • LocationCalifornia, U.S.A.
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Try this, worked for me:

http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1317384
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 03 March 2011 - 08:54 AM (#18) User is offline   citifone 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: 03-March 11
  • LocationPhnum Penh, Cambodia
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Any luck fixing your phone? I have the same problem. I flashed update rom and now phone just stuck at logo. I've been trying to fix it for 4 days now, flashing many different files. I didn't check the original firmware and it was not rooted..The instruction to flash kernel is for phones that rooted, what I understand. So what is the solution to fix this phone please, if you don't know the original firmware and phone is bricked?
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 03 March 2011 - 04:41 PM (#19) User is offline   jkurl15 

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,106
  • Joined: 07-January 11
  • LocationFairfield, Ca
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:2.3.6 Gingerbread

View Postcitifone, on 03 March 2011 - 08:54 AM, said:

Any luck fixing your phone? I have the same problem. I flashed update rom and now phone just stuck at logo. I've been trying to fix it for 4 days now, flashing many different files. I didn't check the original firmware and it was not rooted..The instruction to flash kernel is for phones that rooted, what I understand. So what is the solution to fix this phone please, if you don't know the original firmware and phone is bricked?



what tab do you have. I will help you find a stock firmware.

Galaxy Tab Model : 7-Inch
Galaxy Tab Number : GT-P1000
Android Version : 2.3.6

Posted 04 March 2011 - 02:35 AM (#20) User is offline   citifone 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: 03-March 11
  • LocationPhnum Penh, Cambodia
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Yes, you're right jkurl15, but it's my customer's who didn't know what he was doing. I'm trying to repair for him..the vol up+power doesn't do anything since it's been flashed. Is there anyway to fix this phone without knowing the original version? I know it's european model and not an operator's and I flashed maybe 5-6 different files so far and always got stuck at boot logo...thanks to all for your help.
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Share this topic:


  • 12 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic



1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

IPB Skins by Skinbox

Skin and Language