The Galaxy Tab Forum: Home button problem - The Galaxy Tab Forum

Jump to content

Welcome to The Galaxy Tab Forum

Welcome to The Galaxy Tab Forum, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information. Take advantage of it immediately, Register Now or Sign In.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Add events to our community calendar
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Customize your experience here
Guest Message by DevFuse
Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Home button problem won't switch to Home screen, just Task Manager

Posted 12 May 2011 - 12:38 PM (#1) User is offline   oldcanon 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: 06-May 11
  • LocationUK
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

I've been using this new TAB WIFI for the last few days without problem but today ran up against a problem with the Home button. Where before using this button returned it back to the Home page it now takes me back to the Task Manager and even when all tasks are ended it seems to freeze there.

The only way I have found to return it to normal working is to switch off and restart.

Help please - I'm not happy!
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile



Galaxy Tab Model : 7-Inch Original
Galaxy Tab Number : GT-P1000
Android Version : Not Stated

Remove Advertisements User is offline Advertisements

  • TheGalaxyTabForum.com



Posted 12 May 2011 - 01:57 PM (#2) User is offline   Rhort 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 70
  • Joined: 26-February 11
  • LocationEdinburgh, UK
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Curious. It should only do that with a long press.

Have you installed any custom launchers, or Task Managers? They can often redefine the system key useage.
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 12 May 2011 - 02:54 PM (#3) User is offline   oldcanon 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: 06-May 11
  • LocationUK
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Thanks for responding, I ended up doing a full system reset which seems to have solved the problem (it also seems to have loaded a slightly different looking screen display although its still the same version firmware) - oh well, new system glitches are nothing new for me! :lol:
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile



Galaxy Tab Model : 7-Inch Original
Galaxy Tab Number : GT-P1000
Android Version : Not Stated

Posted 13 May 2011 - 09:52 AM (#4) User is offline   Rhort 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 70
  • Joined: 26-February 11
  • LocationEdinburgh, UK
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Hmmm. The "different looking screen" you mention suggests that somewhere along the line someone had installed a custom launcher.

Still, all sorted now :)
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic



1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

IPB Skins by Skinbox

Skin and Language