The Galaxy Tab Forum: [GUIDE] Unlocking Samsung Galaxy Tab - The Galaxy Tab Forum

Jump to content

Welcome to The Galaxy Tab Forum

Welcome to The Galaxy Tab Forum, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information. Take advantage of it immediately, Register Now or Sign In.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Add events to our community calendar
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Customize your experience here
Guest Message by DevFuse
  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

[GUIDE] Unlocking Samsung Galaxy Tab

Posted 19 November 2010 - 08:44 PM (#1) User is offline   Bogdi 

  • Administrator
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 1,192
  • Joined: 05-October 10
  • LocationUK
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:2.3.6 Gingerbread

Guide to unlock your GSM Galaxy Tab (tested on Locked Australian Galaxy Tab)
( NOT for Sprint or Verizon CDMA )


You should back up your /efs/ folder before you proceed as you may need this to undo if something goes wrong.


Solution 1


*We take no responsibility if something goes wrong!*

How to unlock Smart Samsung Tab. Very Easy steps guys.

1. Root the Tab, I used z4root, it works fine, z4root.1.3.0.apk: http://forum.xda-dev...ad.php?t=833953
2. Install Super Manager as your root explorer. Enable root function in settings.
3. Backup /efs folder with Super Manager to your SDcard to be sure.
4. Open a copy of nv_data.bin in a hex editor. I installed HexEditor. Change 00181462 to 00 (note edit point is currently 01. It is the first two digits after seven "ff").
5. Open /efs with Super Manager set to Mount R/W and your modified nv_data.bin in the Root Explorer clipboard.
6. Rename or delete nv_data.bin and nv_data.bin.md5 and paste nv_data.bin (you have the originals in your /efs backup).
7. Reboot and test with non Smart sim, it should just work, although you will probably need to enter your carrier's APN info to get data working. /Settings/Wireless and network/Mobile networks/Access Point Names, create and save new APN like Globe or Sun.

No warranties please. But it worked fine on mine and its very quick to do too.

Credits gerrycab


Solution 2




You should back up your /efs/ folder before you proceed as you may need this to undo if something goes wrong.

*We take no responsibility if something goes wrong!*

Requirements:

* Root access
* repair_nv_data.zip (Download)
* Java
* Busybox
* The Android SDK for ADB, Root Explorer or some similar file system explorer/editor


(If you have US firmware with no Phone software, you may need to flash European firmware as described here: http://www.thegalaxy...ke-phone-calls/ ).

Firstly, on your phone dial *#7465625# and check if the Network Lock is set to [ON], if so then your phone is locked (duh), so continue.

1. Use Superoneclick to root your phone or z4root. TUTORIAL and where to Download -> CLICK HERE

2. Either use ADB or some other method to rename or delete (backup first):

/efs/nv_data.bin.md5
/efs/.nv_data.bak
/efs/.nv_data.bak.md5

(I just used Root Explorer to rename them to something else).

3. Restart your phone and then go into the /efs/ directory and see if the 'nv_data.bin.md5' file has been re-created by your phone, as long as it has been created then you can proceed.

4. Download repair_nv_data.zip. (Credit for this info goes to helroz from XDA Forums .

5. Install 'busybox' from the Market. Once you install it, you actually have to run it and properly install it (the Market app is basically an installer) - the files in the above zip have a dependency on this.

6. Extract the above zip to your PC, plug in your Tab in USB debugging mode. Run the Step 2.bat from the extracted file. You may need to allow the script super user access several times. This should copy the /efs/ and a bunch of files into a directory with a french name.

7. Run the Reparation_nv_data.jar file. (You will need Java for this step.) It will prompt you to enter two numbers, which are your pseudo-unlock codes. I entered '11111111' and '11111111' (eight 1's) both times. This rewrites the nv_data.bin file to be simunlocked with these details.

8. Run the Step 4.bat. Your superuser app (the one installed when you rooted using SuperOneClick or z4root) will need you to allow each command to have root access so keep an eye on your Tab. You may need to press y/n a few times if you encounter errors. This is uploading the edited nv_data.bin onto your Tab.

This batch file will stop several times and need you to hit a key when it pauses. My Tab rebooted halfway through this batch file - when it did this I waited for it to fully reboot back to the lock screen before pressing a key to make the script continued while the Tab was actually able to respond to its commands.

9. Towards the end of its execution it rebooted a second time. It paused during loading up and had some yellow writing on the screen saying it was updating media (I assume it was rebuilding the nv_data.bin). Leave it for a minute and it will prompt you to reboot/some other options. Just press whatever it wants (home I think) to reboot the phone - you don't want any of the other recovery options.

10. Go into your dialer and put in *#7465625# again and (hopefully) voila! Your phone should no longer be network locked. Try a SIM from a different provider to make sure.

Enjoy!


Credits go to smithdc from XDA Forums.


Galaxy Tab Model : 7-Inch Original
Galaxy Tab Number : GT-P1000
Android Version : 2.3.6 Gingerbread

Remove Advertisements User is offline Advertisements

  • TheGalaxyTabForum.com



Posted 18 December 2010 - 07:04 AM (#2) User is offline   zephyrd 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 18-December 10
  • LocationIllinois, U.S.A.
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

I don't think it works for Sprint version of the tab...
There are no files in the /efs folder...ftw
Nor can you dial!
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 28 December 2010 - 02:53 AM (#3) User is offline   The_Mojo 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • LocationAlberta, Canada
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

When I did this my Tab bricked, BUT I'm not here to complain, I have a solution for for those who have had the same issue.

I have had previous issues with ADB but I ignored them and tried this anyway, I shouldn't have...

When I got to step #9, It had errors on the screen, I thought "Oh damn, this is my only phone...". I gave it about 10 minutes and it didn't do anything, rebooted - nothing, reboot in both of the two modes that volume button gives you - also nothing. So on a hunch I pulled up the same files I used to flash the Euro firmware and used Odin with repartition unchecked and no PIT file and the firmware out of the "Flash Second" folder. It worked 100% perfectly, I now have an Tab that can be used as a phone and is unlocked, woohoo.

For reference the Euro firmware tutorial works flawlessly on the Canadian Bell version of the tab as well as the unlocking tutorial sans what I mentioned which may have been my fault, I bought it outright, not on a contract.
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 18 January 2011 - 04:19 AM (#4) User is offline   lito 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 02-January 11
  • LocationCebu City, Philippines
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Hi Sir Bogdi,

Thank you for your guide in unlocking Galaxy Tab. My simlock SMART Galaxy Tab can now accept Globe and Sun, i am following the solution number 1.

I have some request/help though: i hope you can also give us APN settings for Sun Cellular, i can call and text using my Sun simcard but to no avail on surfing the net even though i followed the Sun's APN setting provided them.

Thanks in advance
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 18 January 2011 - 06:49 AM (#5) User is offline   bigworld 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 17-January 11
  • LocationCalifornia, U.S.A.
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Good luck to you. And really wanna know how to solve it.. i am not professional about it..
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 20 January 2011 - 11:58 AM (#6) User is offline   Jan777 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 18-January 11
  • LocationKabol, Afghanistan
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

*****
5 stars for the unlock description!

It worked perfectly on my Tab!

Description: P-1000 SIM locked to t-mobile Austria
Process: 'solution 2' as described in parent message


:clapping: THANK YOU! :yahoo:
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : 7-Inch Original
Galaxy Tab Number : GT-P1000
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 20 January 2011 - 01:17 PM (#7) User is offline   xichan 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 20-January 11
  • LocationIslamabad, Pakistan
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

 Bogdi, on 19 November 2010 - 08:44 PM, said:

Guide to unlock your GSM Galaxy Tab (tested on Locked Australian Galaxy Tab)
( NOT for Sprint or Verizon CDMA )



So does this mean that Sprint Tab can be Unlocked using this?
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 24 January 2011 - 02:46 AM (#8) User is offline   lito 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 02-January 11
  • LocationCebu City, Philippines
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

@bigworld: yes my GT-P1000 which was locked with Smart Philippines is now sim lock free. I just followed solution number 1.

By the way, my problem with sun cellular's apn settings was solved. I visited sun cellular's service center, my apn which sent through their network was correct, they only activated my number in their system.
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 25 January 2011 - 02:12 AM (#9) User is offline   Ahmed 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 25-January 11
  • LocationNew South Wales, Australia
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Hello there, I signed up in this forum only to say thank you man! it did work for me. the first one is much easier than the second.
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 25 January 2011 - 04:00 PM (#10) User is offline   va2sh 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 15-January 11
  • LocationQuebec, Canada
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Thanks It worked like a charm and my Tab is unlocked!

However, my serial number is all zero's. My IMEI is correct though!

Can someone please tell me how to revert to the correct serial number.
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 01 February 2011 - 08:52 PM (#11) User is offline   xter 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 01-February 11
  • LocationLicko-Senjska, Croatia
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Worked for me (solution 1)!

Thank you!!!
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 02 February 2011 - 11:46 PM (#12) User is offline   lorez1 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 12-December 10
  • LocationQuebec, Canada
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

there is now an app to unlock galaxy tab in the market worked great for me T-mobile is now unlocked and I'm now using Rogers in Canada.The apps called " Galaxy tab unlock"
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 16 February 2011 - 03:23 PM (#13) User is offline   poker 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: 20-December 10
  • LocationMadrid, Spain
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

 lorez1, on 02 February 2011 - 11:46 PM, said:

there is now an app to unlock galaxy tab in the market worked great for me T-mobile is now unlocked and I'm now using Rogers in Canada.The apps called " Galaxy tab unlock"


Tanks yust unlockt my spanish tab using it , works like a charm :-).
I yust had to reinstall busybox ,maybe i had an old version?

Now I m yust waiting for my dual sim to arive and will have modemsim and phonesim on the tab together :-).

Phoning cheap with skype and receaving calls on my normal number . . . .

Sent from my Galaxy Tab p1000 using Tapatalk.
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : 7-Inch Original
Galaxy Tab Number : GT-P1000
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 21 February 2011 - 10:07 AM (#14) User is offline   krispyjim 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 09-February 11
  • LocationNew South Wales, Australia
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Tried method 1 on Aussie Optus locked tab and didn't work. After reboot, it kept restoring the original file.

Went to try method 2, but then discovered a market app to unlock galaxy S and galaxy tab. This app worked really well.

Bring on the custom roms!
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 25 February 2011 - 03:11 AM (#15) User is offline   Mr. Bu 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 23-December 10
  • LocationManila, Philippines
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:2.3.3 Gingerbread

I was able to unlock my GT P1000 using Method 1. I can now load any sim from all carriers. I just noticed that when I connect it to my PC using the USB cable, it now does not ask me the mode that I want to connect (used to be choices as to Kies, Storage, Music etc...). Now it jsut show the home screen and if I select the change of usb connection, it goes straight to USB Storage and ask me to mount. Is there a way for me to be able to do the selection again, not that I like or use the Kies, but just in case it gets better and usable, I might need to connect to it. Thanks in advance.

Galaxy Tab Model : 7-Inch Original
Galaxy Tab Number : GT-P1000
Android Version : 2.3.3 Gingerbread

Posted 15 April 2011 - 12:53 PM (#16) User is offline   musiro 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 02-March 11
  • LocationRepublic of Korea
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

hi guys.. what does mean to change 00181462 to 00 (note edit point is currently 01. It is the first two digits after seven "ff").

i don't understand.... i try to change mytab nv_data.bin by hex edit..

but i don't know what i should open edit after ??

anybody explain more detailly!!

in my case...
54 ea ce 42 00 00 01 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 01 00 ff ff ff ff ff ff
ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
......
where can i should start to chang number??
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : 7-Inch Original
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 16 April 2011 - 02:12 AM (#17) User is offline   owg582pdu 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: 07-March 11
  • LocationQueensland, Australia
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:2.3.3 Gingerbread

 krispyjim, on 21 February 2011 - 10:07 AM, said:

Tried method 1 on Aussie Optus locked tab and didn't work. After reboot, it kept restoring the original file.

Went to try method 2, but then discovered a market app to unlock galaxy S and galaxy tab. This app worked really well.

Bring on the custom roms!


Hi,

which App did you use & how? I'm currently running the latest OPTUS firmware.

Galaxy Tab Model : 7-Inch Original
Galaxy Tab Number : GT-P1000
Android Version : 2.3.3 Gingerbread

Posted 15 May 2011 - 10:59 AM (#18) User is offline   Tyler Danvers 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 08-May 11
  • LocationManila, Philippines
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

 lito, on 18 January 2011 - 04:19 AM, said:

Hi Sir Bogdi,

Thank you for your guide in unlocking Galaxy Tab. My simlock SMART Galaxy Tab can now accept Globe and Sun, i am following the solution number 1.

I have some request/help though: i hope you can also give us APN settings for Sun Cellular, i can call and text using my Sun simcard but to no avail on surfing the net even though i followed the Sun's APN setting provided them.

Thanks in advance

oh great! All i thought i had no hope already. Ill give it a try too.
btw, to fix the hex edit. Dont click the find button, click jump to address in menu
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 30 May 2011 - 07:52 PM (#19) User is offline   chiangmaicharlies 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 29-May 11
  • LocationSouthampton, UK
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:2.2 Froyo

 poker, on 16 February 2011 - 03:23 PM, said:

Tanks yust unlockt my spanish tab using it , works like a charm :-).
I yust had to reinstall busybox ,maybe i had an old version?

Now I m yust waiting for my dual sim to arive and will have modemsim and phonesim on the tab together :-).

Phoning cheap with skype and receaving calls on my normal number . . . .

Sent from my Galaxy Tab p1000 using Tapatalk.


Glad to see unlocking worked for you. I will be trying it as soon as I buy my 'o2' Tab tomorrow. I was interested but did not understand your reference to 'dual sim'. Can you run dual sims on the Tab? I have copy a Iphone & Blackberry, both from China that work perfectly and I love their dual sim capacity.

Galaxy Tab 7-Inch
GT-P1000XXJID
Android 2.2 Froyo

Posted 08 June 2011 - 02:21 AM (#20) User is offline   richietek 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 19-May 11
  • LocationGeorgia, U.S.A.
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Tried method one and it worked on T-Mobile Galaxy Tab. Shows network un-lock but cannot complete calls because dials google voice by default regardless of sim-card. Thanks a million man. Anyway I can donate?
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Share this topic:


  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic



1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

IPB Skins by Skinbox

Skin and Language