The Galaxy Tab Forum: If I forget my password, how do I recover it without losing my files? - The Galaxy Tab Forum

Jump to content

Welcome to The Galaxy Tab Forum

Welcome to The Galaxy Tab Forum, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information. Take advantage of it immediately, Register Now or Sign In.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Add events to our community calendar
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Customize your experience here
Guest Message by DevFuse
  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

If I forget my password, how do I recover it without losing my files?

Posted 05 February 2011 - 01:35 AM (#1) User is offline   red_cannon1991 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 05-February 11
  • LocationAr Riyad, Saudi Arabia
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

hi,

when i go to samsung website to download some applications, games, ..etc to my galaxy tab it requires an ID and password...

where can I get my ID and pass from ??

thnx...

Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Remove Advertisements User is offline Advertisements

  • TheGalaxyTabForum.com



Posted 05 February 2011 - 09:38 AM (#2) User is offline   wizz 

  • Superman Moderator
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Super Moderator
  • Posts: 5,623
  • Joined: 09-December 10
  • LocationUK
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:2.3.3 Gingerbread

Just complete the registration with the information requested......

If your Tab needs to be registered with them, the IMEI and Serial number are on the back of your Tab. It also appears in "Settings/ About Phone".

The password, as with most other registration processes is either automatically generated and emailed to you, or you are asked to provide one yourself.
Posted Image

Galaxy Tab 7" wifi & 3g (GT-P1000) Gingerbread 2.3.3
Galaxy Tab 3 8.0 wifi (SM-T310) Kitkat 4.4.2

Posted 13 February 2011 - 07:06 AM (#3) User is offline   Hungz 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 13-February 11
  • LocationCalifornia, U.S.A.
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Hi All! I forgot my screen lock password. How do I recover my password? Please help. Thanks in advance. Hungz
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 13 February 2011 - 10:54 AM (#4) User is offline   wizz 

  • Superman Moderator
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Super Moderator
  • Posts: 5,623
  • Joined: 09-December 10
  • LocationUK
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:2.3.3 Gingerbread

View PostHungz, on 13 February 2011 - 07:06 AM, said:

Hi All! I forgot my screen lock password. How do I recover my password? Please help. Thanks in advance. Hungz


a hard reset of the Tab is the only way, in which case you would loose all your data, and be back to "as new" default format.

Otherwise, what would be the point of the security.....
Posted Image

Galaxy Tab 7" wifi & 3g (GT-P1000) Gingerbread 2.3.3
Galaxy Tab 3 8.0 wifi (SM-T310) Kitkat 4.4.2

Posted 13 February 2011 - 04:28 PM (#5) User is offline   Hungz 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 13-February 11
  • LocationCalifornia, U.S.A.
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Hi there, My Tab is working again. Thank you very much for your helpful instruction. I want to put down steps to do hard reset in case others have the same problem.

Steps for hard reset


1. With the device off, press and hold Volume Up and Power.
2. Release the Power button when you see the Samsung logo ( about 3 seconds), but continue to hold Volume Up until the recovery screen appears.
3. Use the Volume buttons to navigate the menu and select wipe data / factory reset. Press Power to continue.
The Galaxy Tab should then go through the hard reset process ( formatting user data).
4. When formatting completed, navigate to select Reboot system and press Power.
The Samsung Galaxy Tab is new again.
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 18 February 2011 - 05:20 PM (#6) User is offline   marnstars 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 18-February 11
  • LocationNottingham, UK
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

View PostHungz, on 13 February 2011 - 04:28 PM, said:

Hi there, My Tab is working again. Thank you very much for your helpful instruction. I want to put down steps to do hard reset in case others have the same problem.

Steps for hard reset


1. With the device off, press and hold Volume Up and Power.
2. Release the Power button when you see the Samsung logo ( about 3 seconds), but continue to hold Volume Up until the recovery screen appears.
3. Use the Volume buttons to navigate the menu and select wipe data / factory reset. Press Power to continue.
The Galaxy Tab should then go through the hard reset process ( formatting user data).
4. When formatting completed, navigate to select Reboot system and press Power.
The Samsung Galaxy Tab is new again.


Thanks for this. Helped when I picked up a display model from HMV UK yesterday. One thing to point out (might be just a me thing) but in option 3, I had to hit the HOME light-button and not the POWER button to get this to enter the reset mode.
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 30 March 2011 - 12:14 PM (#7) User is offline   Sir Trevor 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 30-March 11
  • LocationUK
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Hi. I have a new Galaxy Tab today - I am trying to acces a website that requires user name nd password. No problem navigating to the log in page. User name is accepted but when password is typed and click Go the password field clears and I remain atthe log in page. There is no explaination given, the password is definately correct and I can't find any settings that may relate to this. Any ideas please?
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 30 March 2011 - 02:48 PM (#8) User is offline   orlandotek 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 141
  • Joined: 24-February 11
  • LocationFlorida U.S.A.
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:Sprint SPH-P100 CDMA
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

They probably have some script or whatever that is handling the login that is not supported by the browser you are using. Some suggestions are to try a different browser....Dolphin HD, Skyfire, Opera are just a few. Also, you can see if there is a mobile version of the page you can access (maybe even an app).

Some sites just are not compatible with mobile browsers and that is just life.

Sent from my SPH-P100 using Tapatalk
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : 7-Inch Original
Galaxy Tab Number : Sprint SPH-P100 CDMA
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 27 June 2011 - 11:45 PM (#9) User is offline   aguynamedrich 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 27-June 11
  • LocationVermont, U.S.A.
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

I want people to be able to use my tablet in my home and office, but I don't want anyone using it to just go right into my Gmail account. There doesn't seem to be a setting that requires a password. Is it there and I'm just missing it? It's a huge pain to have to keep an eye on everyone using my tablet.
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 03 August 2011 - 12:46 PM (#10) User is offline   bdg 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 11-January 11
  • LocationOntario, Canada
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:2.3.3 Gingerbread

Sorry - your subject implies you want to have a password on apps "like Gmail" but once you run the gmail app with your gmail account it will go into the account directly

So you want other apps to run like gmail. I thought they do?

Galaxy Tab Model : 7-Inch Original
Galaxy Tab Number : GT-P1000
Android Version : 2.3.3 Gingerbread

Posted 12 August 2011 - 12:56 PM (#11) User is offline   Schwa 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 12-August 11
  • LocationIdaho, U.S.A.
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Hey all could use a little help here. Just got my Galaxy tab last night, spent the evening setting it all up downloading some free apps off of the market place just some general stuff. One thing I did do was set an unlock password and set a wake up alarm. Alarm goes off this morning fine, roll over to unlock the tablet put in the pin and then it tells me pin is expired and asks me to change pin.

Ok that is a little weird pin expiring after one day, but no problem go to change pin and now it tells me "Password must contain at least one symbol" It is only giving me numeric selections to input from with no symbol options. Can anyone tell me what I might be missing here or how to change this pin? I am confident it is not user error on the part of having forgot the pin because I use a standard pin for all of these things.

First time posting to the forum, thanks in advance for your assistance. Again I am new to these tabs so if there is any information I can provide that would be helpful please let me know.
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 12 August 2011 - 05:33 PM (#12) User is offline   jkurl15 

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,106
  • Joined: 07-January 11
  • LocationFairfield, Ca
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:2.3.6 Gingerbread

If the pin will not work try your gmail account password and if that does not work hold power button for more than 10 seconds and that will factory reset your tab. You will lose your apps but it will get your tab back.

Sent from my Nexus S using Tapatalk

Galaxy Tab Model : 7-Inch
Galaxy Tab Number : GT-P1000
Android Version : 2.3.6

Posted 12 August 2011 - 07:59 PM (#13) User is offline   Schwa 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 12-August 11
  • LocationIdaho, U.S.A.
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Well I figured it out. It happened after I set my corporate sync account. For some reason the security settings insisted that a 4 digit pin number have a symbol in it. Even when I set it to a full password to unlock it still would not take an acceptable password always saying it was not long enough or needed a symbol, even after putting in a 13 digit password which is much longer than our security settings call for. Must be a bug or something since I used to sync with my iPad and 4 digit unlock code was fine there. Simple solution though, I will just keep using my phone for push email and enjoy my pad for media and games
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 20 September 2011 - 02:22 PM (#14) User is offline   Jez 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 20-September 11
  • LocationPeterborough, UK
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1010
  • Android Version:2.2 Froyo

Hi folks , another newbie to the forum and Tab.
Problem . while surfing the net ( wifi ) in google images after awhile the Tab keeps switching to input password . then gets into a loop .This requires a soft reboot.( Switch totally off ). I found that if I used the Oracle browser this problem has up to now gone away . I don't know if anyone else has had this problem but if so has it been sorted out ! . Jez.
Sorry should had added . gt p1010 froyo no sim.

Galaxy Tab Model : 7-Inch Original
Galaxy Tab Number : GT-P1010
Android Version : 2.2 Froyo

Posted 20 September 2011 - 02:48 PM (#15) User is offline   Moderator Blast 

  • Lady Super Moderator
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Super Moderator
  • Posts: 3,664
  • Joined: 10-December 10
  • LocationKent UK
  • Device Size:I have more than one device. See my Signature
  • Device Model Number:See my Signature
  • Android Version:See my Signature

View PostJez, on 20 September 2011 - 02:22 PM, said:

Hi folks , another newbie to the forum and Tab.
Problem . while surfing the net ( wifi ) in google images after awhile the Tab keeps switching to input password . then gets into a loop .This requires a soft reboot.( Switch totally off ). I found that if I used the Oracle browser this problem has up to now gone away . I don't know if anyone else has had this problem but if so has it been sorted out ! . Jez.
Sorry should had added . gt p1010 froyo no sim.

Hi Jez, thats interesting.

I have been using the Dolphin browser for a long while now but I switched back to the stock browser last week just to try something out and mine did the same thing. I have no idea why, so I have gone back to Dolphin which is way better, as it hasn't got all the sponsored links that google has.

Install Dolphin HD. Good luck

Blast :angel:
Posted Image
Posted Image
GT-N5100 Note 8.0 4.1.2 (2013) -- GT-i9300 4.3 JB (2012) -- GT-P6200(IR)3.2 (2012) -- GT-P1000 Overcome Rom 4.1 GB 2.3.6 (2010) -- Kindle (2011)

Posted 20 September 2011 - 04:39 PM (#16) User is offline   Jez 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 20-September 11
  • LocationPeterborough, UK
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1010
  • Android Version:2.2 Froyo

View PostModerator Blast, on 20 September 2011 - 02:48 PM, said:

Hi Jez, thats interesting.

I have been using the Dolphin browser for a long while now but I switched back to the stock browser last week just to try something out and mine did the same thing. I have no idea why, so I have gone back to Dolphin which is way better, as it hasn't got all the sponsored links that google has.

Install Dolphin HD. Good luck

Blast :angel:



Many thanks for your reply. I was a bit worried that the Tab its self was faulty. Will give Dolphin a try as well.
Jez.

Galaxy Tab Model : 7-Inch Original
Galaxy Tab Number : GT-P1010
Android Version : 2.2 Froyo

Posted 02 October 2011 - 12:30 PM (#17) User is offline   avz10 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 02-October 11
  • LocationGauteng, South Africa
  • Device Size:10.1
  • Device Model Number:GT-P7500
  • Android Version:3.1 Honeycomb

I have received the tab from work and used it last a few months ago. I know the password, which has a mix of capital and small letters as well as an exclamation mark. If I switch the phone on, I cannot get further than the number and cannot get the letters or exclamation mark.
Please advise

Galaxy Tab Model : 10.1
Galaxy Tab Number : GT-P7500
Android Version : 3.1 Honeycomb

Posted 02 October 2011 - 02:42 PM (#18) User is offline   Gmask 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 84
  • Joined: 10-February 11
  • LocationAr Riyad, Saudi Arabia
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

I think u better reset the password. It happened to me one time but with the pattern code. Then after few tries it asked me if i want ot reset. But i think u nid to be connected to the net coz it will be done thru google.
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 02 October 2011 - 02:49 PM (#19) User is offline   Gmask 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 84
  • Joined: 10-February 11
  • LocationAr Riyad, Saudi Arabia
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

View PostGmask, on 02 October 2011 - 02:42 PM, said:

I think u better reset the password. It happened to me one time but with the pattern code. Then after few tries it asked me if i want ot reset. But i think u nid to be connected to the net coz it will be done thru google.


ok i tried it again and it works just follow what i write. need to enter 5x incorrect then it will ask forgotten password? Hope u fix it.
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 18 December 2011 - 10:06 PM (#20) User is offline   Marikiran 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 18-December 11
  • LocationRichmond upon Thames, UK
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Thanks very much, this worked perfectly when I was locked out of my tab
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Share this topic:


  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic


1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

IPB Skins by Skinbox

Skin and Language