The Galaxy Tab Forum: WiFi Problems GT-P5100 GT-P5110 (GT-P5113 usa) - The Galaxy Tab Forum

Jump to content

Welcome to The Galaxy Tab Forum

Welcome to The Galaxy Tab Forum, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information. Take advantage of it immediately, Register Now or Sign In.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Add events to our community calendar
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Customize your experience here
Guest Message by DevFuse
  • 4 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

WiFi Problems GT-P5100 GT-P5110 (GT-P5113 usa)

Posted 20 May 2012 - 01:50 PM (#1) User is offline   Goodtech 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 20-May 12
  • LocationWisconsin, U.S.A.
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

I notice the Tab can only find the 2.4ghz band, The 5ghz has to be added manually, but still shows not in range. I have reset all components, still same result. Wondering if the tab isnot dual band or defective unit? The netgearr dual band router sees the tab as unknown device with no IP address, but allows connection with 2.4ghz.
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Remove Advertisements User is offline Advertisements

  • TheGalaxyTabForum.com



Posted 20 May 2012 - 05:35 PM (#2) User is offline   wizz 

  • Superman Moderator
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Super Moderator
  • Posts: 5,645
  • Joined: 09-December 10
  • LocationUK
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:2.3.3 Gingerbread

 Goodtech, on 20 May 2012 - 01:50 PM, said:

I notice the Tab can only find the 2.4ghz band, The 5ghz has to be added manually, but still shows not in range. I have reset all components, still same result. Wondering if the tab isnot dual band or defective unit? The netgearr dual band router sees the tab as unknown device with no IP address, but allows connection with 2.4ghz.



Exactly the opposite happens with me......

I have a Belkin Dual Band N750 Router, and my GT-P1000 connects on the 5ghz, not the 2.4ghz band.
Posted Image

Galaxy Tab 7" wifi & 3g (GT-P1000) Gingerbread 2.3.3
Galaxy Tab 3 8.0 wifi (SM-T310) Kitkat 4.4.2

Posted 20 May 2012 - 06:49 PM (#3) User is offline   Goodtech 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 20-May 12
  • LocationWisconsin, U.S.A.
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

This is crazy. I chatted with samsung and they had no answer for me. I talked to best buy. they told me to exchange it.
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 21 May 2012 - 07:27 AM (#4) User is offline   wizz 

  • Superman Moderator
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Super Moderator
  • Posts: 5,645
  • Joined: 09-December 10
  • LocationUK
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:2.3.3 Gingerbread

Why do you need both ?

They're no faster than each other.....
Posted Image

Galaxy Tab 7" wifi & 3g (GT-P1000) Gingerbread 2.3.3
Galaxy Tab 3 8.0 wifi (SM-T310) Kitkat 4.4.2

Posted 22 May 2012 - 11:43 PM (#5) User is offline   B21956 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 22-May 12
  • LocationNew York U.S.A.
  • Device Size:2 10.1
  • Device Model Number:GT-P5113
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

 wizz, on 21 May 2012 - 07:27 AM, said:

Why do you need both ?

They're no faster than each other.....


Jumping in here - I also need it to work with 5Ghz since the place where I live does not broadcast on the lower band - too much interference. I had similar issues with my first Android phone (Thunderbolt) and it took a couple months to get a straight answer out of the manufacturer. Not hoping for a repeat from Samsung.
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : 2 10.1
Galaxy Tab Number : GT-P5113
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 23 May 2012 - 01:38 AM (#6) User is offline   Goodtech 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 20-May 12
  • LocationWisconsin, U.S.A.
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

My Netgear router has a nice video enablement for 5ghz only Video reliability algorithms to stream solid HD video performance. Its pretty awesome on my LT. I still have good streaming with the 2.4ghz. Oh, I just confirmed after chatting with Samsung, The new Tab 2 only supports 2.4ghz. I suppose this was one more way to reduce the cost of the unit. The new Acer A510 will also just support 2.4ghz. Not a big deal. Just interesting!
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 08 June 2012 - 08:16 AM (#7) User is offline   rslsbr 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 08-June 12
  • LocationIslamic Republic of Iran
  • Device Size:2 10.1
  • Device Model Number:GT-P5100
  • Android Version:4.0.4 Ice Cream Sandwich

My new galaxy tab 2 10.1 (4.0.4 ICS) doesn't detect my wireless network today.
It does before but today under the network name displays not in range!!!!!
My other devices (mac Air, Galaxy s2, galaxy s3 and others) are working in same network without any issue.


Appreciate your kind help.
Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 GT-P5100 Android 4.0.4 ICS

Posted 08 June 2012 - 09:05 AM (#8) User is offline   Bart Laroc 

  • Relaxed Moderator
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Super Moderator
  • Posts: 4,217
  • Joined: 10-February 11
  • LocationBristol, UK
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:2.3.6 Gingerbread

 rslsbr, on 08 June 2012 - 08:16 AM, said:

My new galaxy tab 2 10.1 (4.0.4 ICS) doesn't detect my wireless network today.
It does before but today under the network name displays not in range!!!!!
My other devices (mac Air, Galaxy s2, galaxy s3 and others) are working in same network without any issue.

Appreciate your kind help.


WI-Fi Connection Problem Solutions (this is a list of solutions found on the Forum)

Reset Router
Check for Router software update (if its an old router)
Test alternative channels on the Router
Check Router Radio Band, Check Router Radio Mode (test alternative settings)
Check Router Security & Tab Security are the same (Open, WEP, WPA/WPA2 PSK, 802.1x EAP)
Is your Tab Mac Address "Permitted" on the Router Filter List
Check your Router Firewall Settings
Is the Router DHCP Pool set large enough for all your devices
(ie:- router ip 192.168.1.1 - router dhcp ip pool 192.168.1.2 to 192.168.1.10 would allow 9 devices)

*** special note *** Belkin Routers, try changing the lease on a Belkin Router from "Forever" to "30 days" (or your choice)

Try a "Static IP" (settings, Wireless & Network, Wi-Fi settings, Menu, Advanced)
check the box, Use static IP
on pc open "Command Prompt" enter ipconfig/all
on Tab
IP address, enter ip address within your router DHCP pool
Gateway, same default gateway as show in PC Command Prompt
Netmask, same Subnet Mask as show in PC Command Prompt
DNS 1, same first DNS Server as show in PC Command Prompt
DNS 2, same second DNS Server as show in PC Command Prompt

on the Tab, don't scan for available wi-fi, add your wi-fi manually, use the same security as the router settings
beware of Tab Auto-Caps when setting up connection

check out : Wifi Analyzer :- https://play.google....e=order_history

Some public networks are open to anyone, but you have to use the Browser app to find a login page that lets you access the network:
Simply browse to any page on the Internet, and the login page shows up.

Posted Image
Galaxy Tab 7-inch, GT-P1000, Overcome v4.1.0 Android Gingerbread 2.3.6, P1000XWJQ8

Posted 10 June 2012 - 09:58 AM (#9) User is offline   kenndovon.km 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 08-June 12
  • LocationNairobi Area, Kenya
  • Device Size:2 10.1
  • Device Model Number:GT-P5113
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Can I connect my tab to adhoc network...model gt-p5113?
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : 2 10.1
Galaxy Tab Number : GT-P5113
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 10 June 2012 - 06:09 PM (#10) User is offline   IngeGL 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 10-June 12
  • LocationNoord-Holland, Netherlands
  • Device Size:2 10.1
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Hello,

Since yesterday we have a Galaxy tab 2 10.1

In our LAN we have a wireless external HD. The tablet does see the external HD when we go to 'all share'. Then we hit the external HD, the circle next to the name of the external hd is turning, but nothing happens. The same thing happens with the laptop in our LAN.

We downloaded 2 apps: 'andsmb' and 'es file explorer'. But we don't understand how to use these...

Can anyone help us please????

We also would like to know if it is possible to print something from the tablet to our wireless printer (HP).

Thank's for helping and greetings from The Netherlands!
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : 2 10.1
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 11 June 2012 - 10:46 AM (#11) User is offline   Bart Laroc 

  • Relaxed Moderator
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Super Moderator
  • Posts: 4,217
  • Joined: 10-February 11
  • LocationBristol, UK
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:2.3.6 Gingerbread

open ES File Explorer, menu, Show Tabs (if not already showing, top of the page)
tap LAN, Menu, New+, Scan ...... this should give you a list of devices IP's'
(long press on an IP to rename as device ie: dektop, laptop, external drive, printer)

ES File Explorer will only show 'shared' folders from your devices,
for example on 'Laptop' you may see many folders, but only have access to folders that are on your 'Laptop' as 'shared',
(windows 7, right click folder, properties, Sharing, share, ........ click the drop down & select everyone, select read or read/write)

not sure with the wifi printer, but you could try on the Tab in ES File Explorer, browse to a folder with a small document or txt file,
long press the file, share ...... see if your printer is one of the options, or try 'Copy to', tap the folder ^ to see your devices listed & tap printer
Posted Image
Galaxy Tab 7-inch, GT-P1000, Overcome v4.1.0 Android Gingerbread 2.3.6, P1000XWJQ8

Posted 15 June 2012 - 02:17 PM (#12) User is offline   rslsbr 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 08-June 12
  • LocationIslamic Republic of Iran
  • Device Size:2 10.1
  • Device Model Number:GT-P5100
  • Android Version:4.0.4 Ice Cream Sandwich

Dear Bart

Thank you for your kind information.
But unfortunately did not work.
Finally, I did factory reset.
Wifi came back and Ok, but when I insert my SIM, I lose the wifi again.
I tried it with different SIM card from Different operators, problem is the same.
Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 GT-P5100 Android 4.0.4 ICS

Posted 21 June 2012 - 09:42 PM (#13) User is offline   Rabi Karim 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 21-June 12
  • LocationMakkah, Saudi Arabia
  • Device Size:Unknown (SAD)
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

My Tab gets signal from my wi-fi router but the internet is not working. I'm really worried with this issue. Can Anyone help me in this regard please ? I'll be very grateful.

Thanks in advance.
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : Unknown(SAD)
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 22 June 2012 - 07:11 AM (#14) User is offline   Bart Laroc 

  • Relaxed Moderator
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Super Moderator
  • Posts: 4,217
  • Joined: 10-February 11
  • LocationBristol, UK
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:2.3.6 Gingerbread

 Rabi Karim, on 21 June 2012 - 09:42 PM, said:

My Tab gets signal from my wi-fi router but the internet is not working. I'm really worried with this issue. Can Anyone help me in this regard please ? I'll be very grateful.

Thanks in advance.


as you posted in this section I guess you have a 'Galaxy Tab 2 10.1'
what is your Device Model Number ?
what is your Android Version ?

check out : WI-Fi Connection Problem Solutions (this is a list of solutions found on the Forum)
Posted Image
Galaxy Tab 7-inch, GT-P1000, Overcome v4.1.0 Android Gingerbread 2.3.6, P1000XWJQ8

Posted 22 June 2012 - 06:39 PM (#15) User is offline   zstatman 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 118
  • Joined: 02-May 11
  • LocationFlorida, USA
  • Device Size:2 10.1
  • Device Model Number:GT-P5113
  • Android Version:4.1.1 Jellybean

What brand of router

Mine is the Cisco and I had to load each device's MAC address into the security table
Z_Statman
Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1" (GT-P5113) Android 4.1.1
Samsung Galaxy Rugby Pro Phone
Montana 650 GPSr
Florida, USA

=========================================
"Anything is possible. The impossible might take a little longer" [NSA motto]
"The journey is the reward" [Steve Jobs]
"Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt" [Anonymous]

Posted 23 June 2012 - 02:14 PM (#16) User is offline   kathyt 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 23-June 12
  • LocationMissouri, U.S.A.
  • Device Size:2 10.1
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

I bought a galaxy tab2 10.1 a week ago - it will not pick up my home wifi - worked Monday in an airport (tmobile) and all week in hotel - but will not connect to my TWC network at home. Called Samsung - said the encryption type needed to be changed - spent 2 hours on phone with twc - changing from WEP to WPA - would not take AES - so changed to TKIP-AES. My laptop connects without any problems - the tablet - searches 'obtaining IP address' - says the signal strength is 'very strong' and then will quit searching with message - 'network disabled. poor connection'. TW thinks it is a tablet issue. Has anyone else had this issue and any idea how to fix?
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : 2 10.1
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 23 June 2012 - 03:41 PM (#17) User is offline   Moderator Blast 

  • Lady Super Moderator
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Super Moderator
  • Posts: 3,664
  • Joined: 10-December 10
  • LocationKent UK
  • Device Size:I have more than one device. See my Signature
  • Device Model Number:See my Signature
  • Android Version:See my Signature

There may be something in here help you
http://www.thegalaxy...dpost__p__44932
Posted Image
Posted Image
GT-N5100 Note 8.0 4.1.2 (2013) -- GT-i9300 4.3 JB (2012) -- GT-P6200(IR)3.2 (2012) -- GT-P1000 Overcome Rom 4.1 GB 2.3.6 (2010) -- Kindle (2011)

Posted 24 June 2012 - 07:28 PM (#18) User is offline   IngeGL 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 10-June 12
  • LocationNoord-Holland, Netherlands
  • Device Size:2 10.1
  • Device Model Number:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
  • Android Version:Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Earlier I posted about problems with my external HD. I tried what Bart posted. When I make a LAN scan in ESFE he'll find the printer and laptop. But he won't find the External HD.
When I add it manual, it can't connect. It gives 5 options why it fails:
- WiFi is off (this is not the case)
- SMB does not have network scope (don't know what that is)
- Not the right IP adress. I checked, double checked and checked again...
- Blocked by firewall...don't know where to look for that
- SMB-service is off.

I checked on the external HD, the SMB service is on...

So again I'm not coming any further. Can anyone help me?

Thank you in advance!
Don't Be ..... Unknown(SAD)


Please Edit your Profile


Galaxy Tab Model : 2 10.1
Galaxy Tab Number : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device
Android Version : Unknown(SAD) - See : Settings, About Device

Posted 22 August 2012 - 01:30 PM (#19) User is offline   msukriti 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 22-August 12
  • LocationMaharashtra, India
  • Device Size:2 10.1
  • Device Model Number:GT-P5100
  • Android Version:4.0.4 Ice Cream Sandwich

Hi All,

I have a Tab 2 10.1, Wave 2 and a laptop on Windows Vista which is connected to the Internet through a USB modem. I shared my Internet connection on wifi using Internet connection sharing. My phone - samsung wave 2 could easily recognize this ad hoc network and connect to the Internet through this network. However, in the tab 2, the network does not even appear as an available wifi connection. I tried to enter the SSID and network key manually, but the tab lists the network as "Not in range".

Are there any settings on the tab I am missing out on?

I could connect the tab to other wifi networks quite easily however not this one I set up at home.

I could easily connect my phone and an iPad to this home network quite easily but not the tab :(

Please help!

Thanks.
Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 GT-P5100 Android 4.0.4

Posted 22 August 2012 - 01:51 PM (#20) User is offline   wizz 

  • Superman Moderator
  • Insert nick to fast reply form
  • Quote selected text to fast reply form
  • Group: Super Moderator
  • Posts: 5,645
  • Joined: 09-December 10
  • LocationUK
  • Device Size:7-Inch Original
  • Device Model Number:GT-P1000
  • Android Version:2.3.3 Gingerbread

My GT-P1000 original Tab 7 will only connect to Infrastructure Wifi Networks........ It could easily be the same for all the Tab Models....
Posted Image

Galaxy Tab 7" wifi & 3g (GT-P1000) Gingerbread 2.3.3
Galaxy Tab 3 8.0 wifi (SM-T310) Kitkat 4.4.2

Share this topic:


  • 4 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic


1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

IPB Skins by Skinbox

Skin and Language